What is it with the Irish and spuds?

I know this must sound quite stereotypical, but do the Irish have a higher affinity for spuds? Most have a little Irish in them somewhere down the line… What have you found from your experience?

I know a cat called spud

My Dad, who is Irish by the way, eats spuds EVERY day. In very large quantities.

My Grandad is the same. They always order extra whenever they’re at a restaurant.

In fact, I remember one time my Grandad told the waitress ‘These spud are cold! Gimme some more will ye?’… When she came back with more, he’d eaten the cold ones!

His Grandad, my great great Grandfather, lived during the Irish potato famine… He lived until (don’t quote me on this) one hundred and ten! That’s epic, even for this day and age! Apparently, to survive he hid out in the back-hills and ate wild deer. Sounds pretty legendary to me.

In those days, they mainly ate potatoes as they were the only high calorie crop hardy enough to grow in abundance. Did you know that you can survive on milk and potatoes alone? (Although you’d get a molybdenum deficiency, so you’d need a wee bit of oats here and there). 

Consequently, most of my dinner plate has always been overshadowed by spuds. It’s only the past few years that I’ve really branched out into pasta and rice. Honest! I’ve been missing out, but sure, nothing beats a good ol’ spud!

Actually, my family often call them ‘purdy’, or ‘purdies’… I wonder where that one comes from?

But anyway, let’s be thankful that we even have a choice!

Categories: Culture | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “What is it with the Irish and spuds?

  1. My wife and I honeymooned in Ireland, because we are rather fond of most things Irish. Some people have thought I am Irish, because a) I can imitate an accent pretty well and b) I also could eat potato-based products (including just eating a potato) all day! My wife laughs often about how much I seem to enjoy eating them.

  2. My Dad was Irish, as well. Our ancestors were from Galway.

    And all of us Martins (it used to be O’Martin before they came to the States) love our potatoes!

    My wife’s Dad was also 100% Irish (flaming red hair – a Chicago cop) and he would eat nothing but meat and potatoes (almost, anyway).

    Thanks, curiouscatlady!

    BTW – We have a Tortoise Shell (kitty cat), and we love her to death!

    – Steve

  3. blackwatertown

    You’re right about the healthiness. Before the famine, Irish poor were unusually sturdy and healthy for that time period in Europe – though clearly having no potatoes wasn’t so good.

    Which reminds of different reactions to missing lunch:

    Non-Irish person – I missed lunch. I feel hungry. I am so hungry. I’d better have something to eat.

    Irish person – I missed lunch. I feel hungry. I feel ravenous – like in the famine. The great hunger – an gorta mor – the pain, the oppression, the depradation, the bodies by the laneside, the famine ships….

    Non-Irish person – Why don’t you have something to eat then?

    Irish person – Eat? Eat?! I need a drink!

    …groan sorry. Can I get away with that if I’m Irish myself?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

